Awards and Fellows Nominations Information

All awards (except the undergraduate book prizes) will be presented at the CAES Awards Banquet, Monday, July 26, 2010.

Masters Theses Nominations

Due Date: March 15, 2010

Criteria: The Canadian Agricultural Economics Society is soliciting nominations for up to two Master's Theses for the annual CAES Masters Thesis Award. This award recognizes excellence in student research. Each eligible department may select one or two theses from appropriate fields of study to be judged in the competition. The theses must be completed in the year previous to year the award will be given. The competition recognizes an overall winner and as many as two Honourable Mentions.

Contact: Please submit theses and the name of one reviewer by email to Tomas Nilsson, CAES Awards Chair () in PDF format. Note: Reviewers are not required to be a current academic staff member; volunteer reviewers can come from outside academe as well i.e. federal, provincial and municipal governments, NGO, private sector and international. All reviewing will be handled electronically.

CJAE Outstanding Journal Article

Due Date: March 15, 2010

Criteria: The Outstanding Journal Article awards recognize achievement in agricultural economics, resource economics and farm management for articles appearing in the journal of the Society, the Canadian Journal of Agricultural Economics. Only articles appearing in the 2009 volume of the CJAE are eligible for consideration.

Contact: Please submit nominations by e-mail to Valerie Johnson ().

Publication of Enduring Quality

Due Date: March 15, 2010

Criteria: This award is given for a publication by a CAES member (in the CJAE or elsewhere) that has had a significant impact on Agricultural, Environmental or Resource Economics in Canada and has been available for 10 years or more (i.e., published in or before 1999). Nominations should be accompanied by a short statement (maximum of one single-spaced page) describing the publication's contributions to the profession.

Contact: Please submit the nomination statement and the reference of the publication by e-mail to Valerie Johnson ().

Undergrad Book Prize Nominations

Due Date: April 30, 2010

Criteria: This award recognizes excellence in agricultural economics, farm management, resource economics and related fields of study at the undergraduate level. The Award is intended to encourage undergraduate students in their final year to continue study in these fields. Universities with such programs of study are invited to nominate one candidate each. Other selection criteria are left to the Universities. Winners receive $100 and a one-year membership in the Canadian Agricultural Economics Society, which includes a one-year's subscription to the Canadian Journal of Agricultural Economics.

Contact: The name of the nominee and his/her address must accompany an explanation of nomination to Valerie Johnson () before April 30, 2010.

Fellows Nominations

Due Date: March 15, 2010

Eligibility: A Fellow will normally have been a member of the Canadian Agricultural Economics Society for at least 10 years.


  • Excellence in performance demonstrating continuous distinguished contributions to the advancement of agricultural or resource economics, and
  • Substantial contributions to institution building and the Canadian agricultural and resource economics profession.

The following rules govern the Fellows Award:

  • Nominations must consist of a completed CAES Fellows Nomination Form, four letters of support for the nomination with at least two being from CAES members. The letters should include documentary evidence as to the character, training, experience and accomplishments of the nominee.
  • Nominations may be made by any member of the Society.
  • To be eligible for consideration, nominations, including documentation, are to be delivered to the CAES Executive Director (Valerie Johnson) by the March 15th deadline.
  • Unsuccessful nominations may be re-documented and resubmitted in a subsequent year.

Nomination Forms:

Questions: Please direct questions to Lars Brink ( or Valerie Johnson ().